Mediation Accreditation

The Law Society is a Recognised Mediation Accreditation Body (RMAB) under the National Mediator Accreditation System (NMAS).

The NMAS identifies standards of practice and competencies for mediators in Australia.

Become an accredited mediator

To become an accredited mediator, you must provide an application to the Law Society containing:

  • evidence of good character
  • an undertaking to comply with ongoing practice standards and comply with any legislative and approval requirements
  • evidence of relevant insurance, statutory indemnity or employee status
  • evidence of membership of, or a relationship with, an organisation that has relevant ethical requirements, complaints and disciplinary processes as well as ongoing professional support (this may be the Law Society itself)
  • evidence of mediator competence by reference to education, training and experience

Download the NMAS Accreditation Checklist for the full requirements to be an accredited or re-accredited mediator.

Visit the Mediator Standards Board website for the full National Standards. The new Standards took effect from 1 July 2015. The Law Society has also produced Model Mediation Rules, and has established a Panel of Mediators and a Panel of Arbitrators.

For more information please email:

Disclaimer: The Law Society does not warrant or guarantee the work undertaken by any firm or individual listed or provided and is not liable in relation to any aspect of legal services they may provide to you.

Interested in becoming a member?

Telephone Number
Law Society of Western Australia Reception
(08) 9324 8600
Law Mutual
(08) 9481 3111
Continuing Professional Development
(08) 9324 8640
Membership Services
(08) 9324 8692
Professional Standards Scheme
(08) 9324 8653
Old Court House Law Museum
(08) 9324 8688
Francis Burt Law Education Programme
(08) 9324 8686
Media Enquiries
(08) 9324 8650