The Law Society Congratulates New President of Mental Health Tribunal

The Law Society Congratulates New President of Mental Health Tribunal

Monday, 5 December 2022

The Law Society of Western Australia congratulates Dr Andrew Lu AM on his appointment as the new Mental Health Tribunal President, as announced by Mental Health Minister Amber-Jade Sanderson on 5 December 2022.

The Mental Health Tribunal is a specialist quasi-judicial body constituted under the Mental Health Act 2014 (WA) and oversees the treatment and care of involuntary mental health patients.

During his five-year term, Dr Lu will lead the Tribunal in its role to safeguard the rights of people who are subject to involuntary treatment orders under the Mental Health Act 2014 (WA). The Tribunal also seeks to support respectful, fair hearings which encourage participation from patients, carers and families and result in a consistent, just decision in every matter.

Dr Lu has been a partner and head of the national Health Industry practice of law firm HBA Legal, specialising in medical defence, health and aged care liability and vocational regulation. He has over 21 years’ experience in private practice and is noted in ‘Best Lawyers’ as one of Australia’s leading Health and Aged Care solicitors.

In addition, he is an experienced mediator and a sessional member of the State Administrative Tribunal, a deputy member of the WA Reproductive Technology Council, Adjunct Professor of Curtin Law School, and an experienced company director.

Dr Lu AM is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law and holds Bachelors and Masters degrees in Law, a research Doctorate in Law, and was awarded the Order of Australia Medal in 2008. In 2021 he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the Arts, to the Law, and to legal education.

Law Society President Rebecca Lee said, “I congratulate Dr Andrew Lu AM on this eminent appointment. His breadth of knowledge, experience and dedicated commitment to service, to both the legal profession and wider community, are exemplary and make him ideally suited to this new role.”

Dr Lu AM joined the Law Society of Western Australia as a member in 2001 and also served as its Manager Professional Development. He is a current member of the Ethics Committee and the Education Committee. He is a regular presenter for the Law Society’s CPD Program, and a board member of the Old Courthouse Law Museum Foundation Committee.

– ENDS –

For comment please contact:

Madeleine McErlain
Manager Corporate Communications
(08) 9324 8650

The Law Society of Western Australia is the peak professional association for lawyers in the State. The Society is a not-for-profit association dedicated to the representation of its more than 4,500 members. The Society enhances the legal profession through its position as a respected leader and contributor on law reform, access to justice and the rule of law. The Society is widely acknowledged by the legal profession, government and the community as the voice of the legal profession in Western Australia.


Telephone Number
Law Society of Western Australia Reception
(08) 9324 8600
Law Mutual
(08) 9481 3111
Continuing Professional Development
(08) 9324 8640
Membership Services
(08) 9324 8692
Professional Standards Scheme
(08) 9324 8653
Old Court House Law Museum
(08) 9324 8688
Francis Burt Law Education Programme
(08) 9324 8686
Media Enquiries
(08) 9324 8650