2020 Law Society President Elected

2020 Law Society President Elected

Thursday, 17 October 2019

Nicholas van Hattem has been declared elected as the Law Society of Western Australia’s President for 2020. Mr van Hattem is the Law Society’s current Senior Vice President.

Mr van Hattem said, “I am honoured to be the President of the Law Society for 2020. It has been a privilege to serve as Senior Vice President in 2019. I look forward to continuing to help the important work of the Society.

“In 2020, the Society will continue to pursue its objectives: improving access to justice, supporting greater inclusion in the profession and providing assistance to, and advocacy on behalf of, its members and the wider profession.

“I’m looking forward to working with all my colleagues on Council. Next year also represents an exciting opportunity to support the Society’s work in regional WA, with multiple nominations being received from the regions.”

Law Society President Greg McIntyre SC said, “I congratulate Nicholas on his appointment as President of the Society in 2020. I look forward to working with the newly constituted Council and Executive in 2020 as Immediate Past President.”

Mr van Hattem is a barrister with experience in commercial, government and criminal law matters, practising from Francis Burt Chambers. He began his career as Associate to the Hon Justice Miller before taking articles with Freehills in 2009. His practice as a solicitor included in-house roles in banking and mining and a year with the Aboriginal Legal Service.

In 2013, Mr van Hattem joined the State Solicitor’s Office. He was engaged in a broad range of counsel work, including appearing in the Magistrates, Coroner’s, District, and Supreme Courts. In 2017 he became Assistant State Solicitor and was seconded to WA Police where he acted as an advisor and counsel, before joining the bar in February 2018.

He was recognised by the Society as Senior Lawyer of the Year in 2017, in part for his efforts establishing the Piddington Justice Project.

Ms Jocelyne Boujos was declared elected as Senior Vice President and Ms Rebecca Lee was also declared elected as Junior Vice President and Treasurer.

– ENDS –

For comment please contact:

Andrew MacNiven
Senior Media and Communications Officer
(08) 9324 8634

About us: The Law Society of Western Australia is the peak professional association for lawyers in the State. The Society is a not-for-profit association dedicated to the representation of its more than 4,000 members. The Society enhances the legal profession through its position as a respected leader and contributor on law reform, access to justice and the rule of law. The Society is widely acknowledged by the legal profession, government and the community as the voice of the legal profession in Western Australia.

Telephone Number
Law Society of Western Australia Reception
(08) 9324 8600
Law Mutual
(08) 9481 3111
Continuing Professional Development
(08) 9324 8640
Membership Services
(08) 9324 8692
Professional Standards Scheme
(08) 9324 8653
Old Court House Law Museum
(08) 9324 8688
Francis Burt Law Education Programme
(08) 9324 8686
Media Enquiries
(08) 9324 8650