2024 Council

2024 Council

The Law Society is governed by a Council chaired by the President and is assisted in the management of the Law Society by the Chief Executive Officer and Law Society staff. There are more than 30 substantive committees comprised of members, covering policy, statutory and administrative issues.

The Council of the Law Society of Western Australia consists of a President, Senior Vice President, Junior Vice President & Treasurer, Immediate Past President, 9 Ordinary members, one Country member and three Junior members.

The Executive includes the President, Senior Vice President, Junior Vice President & Treasurer and Immediate Past President. The Council operates in accordance with the Council Standing Orders and its Constitution.


Founding Director, Kim Wilson & Co
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Senior Vice President
Lawyer, Abacus Legal and
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Junior Vice President & Treasurer
Principal Solicitor, Fremantle
Community Legal Centre
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Immediate Past President
Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Ordinary Member
Legal Counsel, Nexus Airlines
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Ordinary Member
Senior Associate, Butcher, Paull & Calder
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Ordinary Member
Special Counsel, Hall & Wilcox
Council Term Expires: 12/2025


Ordinary Member
Barrister, Murray Chambers
Council Term Expires: 12/2025


Ordinary Member
Special Counsel, Hotchkin Hanly
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Ordinary Member
Lawyer, JDKLS
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Ordinary Member
Lawyer, State Solicitor’s Office
Council Term Expires: 12/2025


Ordinary Member
Consultant, O’Sullivan Davies Lawyers 
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Ordinary Member
Barrister, Francis Burt Chambers
Council Term Expires: 12/2025


Country Member
Principal, Mortlock Ryan & Co
Council Term Expires: 12/2025


Junior Member
Lawyer, Moray & Agnew
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Junior Member
Director, Resolve Right Mediation
Council Term Expires: 12/2024


Junior Member
Subcontracts Manager, L3Harris Integrated Mission Systems Australia Pty Ltd
Council Term Expires: 12/2024

Interested in becoming a member?

Paula Wilkinson, President

Paula was a founding member of Kim Wilson & Co in 1998 and has acted, and continues to act, in many of Western Australia’s most complex cases.

Paula was accredited as a Family Law Specialist (NSW) in 2012 and became an adjunct lecturer for the NSW College of Law (LLM) for the following five years. In 2021, she was accredited as an AIFLAM mediator.

Paula is recognised by Doyle’s Guide as a Leading West Australian Family & Divorce Lawyer and also a Leading West Australian Family Lawyer (High-Value & Complex Property Matters) – Western Australia, 2022.

She has presented papers at numerous family law conferences in Australia, in Indonesia (Bali) and at the University of Western Australia Law School and Murdoch University Law School.

Paula is a board member of Law Access WA, a committee member of the Professional Indemnity Insurance Management Committee and the Accreditation Committee, both of which are committees of the Law Society of Western Australia.

Gary Mack, Senior Vice President

Gary Mack is an experienced lawyer, independent children’s lawyer and family dispute resolution practitioner with expertise in family law, not-for-profit law and neighbourhood disputes. He is the convenor of the Law Society’s Access to Justice Committee and a member of the Law Council of Australia’s Access to Justice Committee. He is a member of the Legal Practice Board and Deputy Convenor of the Professional Affairs Committee as well as a member of the Legal Services and Complaints Committee. He is also a councillor in the Town of Cambridge.

Judy McLean, Junior Vice President & Treasurer

Judy McLean graduated from the University of WA in 2002 and was admitted to practise in February 2004 after completing her Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice at the Australian National University in 2003. Judy also holds a Master of Law from the University of WA. She has practised solely in Perth across diverse areas of law, in various sectors, including, private, state and local government, and the community legal sector.

Judy has been a council member of the Law Society since 2021, she is the Junior Vice President and Treasurer for 2024 and is looking forward to all that this year brings.

Ante Golem, Immediate Past President

Ante is a partner at Herbert Smith Freehills and is section head of their Perth Disputes team.

His practice focuses on dispute resolution and he provides strategic advice to clients involving complex commercial disputes, inquiries and investigations.

He has extensive experience in international arbitration and commercial dispute resolution, particularly in complex construction and infrastructure disputes. Ante is also a specialist in class action litigation and has acted in some of Australia’s largest shareholder class actions.

Telephone Number
Law Society of Western Australia Reception
(08) 9324 8600
Law Mutual
(08) 9481 3111
Continuing Professional Development
(08) 9324 8640
Membership Services
(08) 9324 8692
Professional Standards Scheme
(08) 9324 8653
Old Court House Law Museum
(08) 9324 8688
Francis Burt Law Education Programme
(08) 9324 8686
Media Enquiries
(08) 9324 8650