Membership of the Young Lawyers Committee is limited to members of the Law Society. To join the committee please complete an Expression of Interest Form or email


The Young Lawyers Committee has a number of sub-committees, which organise many of its initiatives.

The group focuses on bringing events to young lawyers that encourage networking and socialising across the profession. These activities also encourage young lawyers to build networks and friendships in order to work towards better mental health and a sense of belonging.

Demi Swain


Isabella Wilson

Deputy Chair

Emma Boogaerdt


Milo Bronleigh

Fogliani Lawyers

Kitty Chen

DLA Piper Australia

Thomas Coltrona


Garrick Garvey

Marshall Lawyers WA

Catinca Hozoc-Martin

Yamatji Marlpa Aboriginal Corporation

Mary-Kate Ledger

Hotchkin Hanly Lawyers

Matthew Petriwskyj

Culshaw Miller Lawyers

Rebecca Rees

Moray & Agnew

Munashe Rusamo

Estrin Saul Lawyers and Migration Specialists

Daniel Dyer-Smith

Sedgman Pty Limited

Katherine Swann


Dora van der Westhuyzen

Nova Legal

Annie Williams


Telephone Number
Law Society of Western Australia Reception
(08) 9324 8600
Law Mutual
(08) 9481 3111
Continuing Professional Development
(08) 9324 8640
Membership Services
(08) 9324 8692
Professional Standards Scheme
(08) 9324 8653
Old Court House Law Museum
(08) 9324 8688
Francis Burt Law Education Programme
(08) 9324 8686
Media Enquiries
(08) 9324 8650

Gary Mack, Senior Vice President

Gary Mack is an experienced lawyer, independent children’s lawyer and family dispute resolution practitioner with expertise in family law, not-for-profit law and neighbourhood disputes. He is the convenor of the Law Society’s Access to Justice Committee and a member of the Law Council of Australia’s Access to Justice Committee. He is a member of the Legal Practice Board and Deputy Convenor of the Professional Affairs Committee as well as a member of the Legal Services and Complaints Committee. He is also a councillor in the Town of Cambridge.

Judy McLean, Junior Vice President & Treasurer

Judy McLean graduated from the University of WA in 2002 and was admitted to practise in February 2004 after completing her Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice at the Australian National University in 2003. Judy also holds a Master of Law from the University of WA. She has practised solely in Perth across diverse areas of law, in various sectors, including, private, state and local government, and the community legal sector.

Judy has been a council member of the Law Society since 2021, she is the Junior Vice President and Treasurer for 2024 and is looking forward to all that this year brings.

Ante Golem, Immediate Past President

Ante is a partner at Herbert Smith Freehills and is section head of their Perth Disputes team.

His practice focuses on dispute resolution and he provides strategic advice to clients involving complex commercial disputes, inquiries and investigations.

He has extensive experience in international arbitration and commercial dispute resolution, particularly in complex construction and infrastructure disputes. Ante is also a specialist in class action litigation and has acted in some of Australia’s largest shareholder class actions.

Paula Wilkinson, President

Paula was a founding member of Kim Wilson & Co in 1998 and has acted, and continues to act, in many of Western Australia’s most complex cases.

Paula was accredited as a Family Law Specialist (NSW) in 2012 and became an adjunct lecturer for the NSW College of Law (LLM) for the following five years. In 2021, she was accredited as an AIFLAM mediator.

Paula is recognised by Doyle’s Guide as a Leading West Australian Family & Divorce Lawyer and also a Leading West Australian Family Lawyer (High-Value & Complex Property Matters) – Western Australia, 2022.

She has presented papers at numerous family law conferences in Australia, in Indonesia (Bali) and at the University of Western Australia Law School and Murdoch University Law School.

Paula is a board member of Law Access WA, a committee member of the Professional Indemnity Insurance Management Committee and the Accreditation Committee, both of which are committees of the Law Society of Western Australia.