

The Law Society runs the Mock Trial Competition as part of the Francis Burt Law Education Programme. A tradition since 1987, it provides students with an enjoyable and dynamic introduction to the law.

2022 was a disrupted year for the Mock Trial Competition. COVID restrictions meant that we could not use the court rooms of Supreme Court until August. We regrouped and rescheduled with an alternative venue for the Round 1 trials: the Old Court House Law Museum, where we held one trial per evening from March to June. Students enjoyed the opportunity to do their trials in this historic building.

In August and September, we were able to complete two more rounds of mock trials in our usual venue, the Supreme Court in Stirling Gardens. At the end of three rounds, the team at the top of the table was Aquinas Red. Congratulations to Aquinas College, 2022's winning school!

The 2023 President of the Law Society, Ante Golem, presented the Aquinas students with their awards at a ceremony at the college in November. Former President Alain Musikanth attended as well on behalf of Francis Burt Chambers. Several teams from less advantaged schools were eligible for the Student Access Program, an equity of access initiative, thanks to our partnership with Francis Burt Chambers.

Coming second in 2022 was a team from Duncraig Senior High School. This was a great effort, especially as this school had only recently joined the Competition. Congratulations to the Duncraig Senior High School team and their coaches Kellie Woods and Jason O'Meara.

The Law Society of Western Australia thanks the Department of Justice and the Supreme Court for providing the use of the courts for the 98 mock trials.

We thank Law Society members, including associates, practitioners and law students who volunteered their time to coach a team or to judge one or more of the mock trials. This programme is regarded highly by our community and is made possible by the support of these volunteers.

The Law Society would especially like to thank Mr Aoning Li and Mr Ashley Roberts for devising and producing the case materials for the 2022 Competition. We also thank Mr Gerald Hoe for his valuable support throughout the season.

Lawyers interested in volunteering as a coach or judge in 2023 are invited to contact the Mock Trial Coordinator at mocktrial@lawsocietywa.asn.au







Above: (L-R) Alain Musikanth SC, Board Chair, Francis Burt Chambers; Aquinas winning Mock Trial Team; and Ante Golem, President Elect, The Law Society of WA.



Above: The winning team.

Premium Partners





Government of Western Australia

Student Access Partner



WA Law School Partners





We extend our thanks to the following members of the profession who volunteered as coaches or judges in the 2022 Competition. The programme would not be possible without your support.

COACHES

Andrew Monisse Anna Prentice Bertie Smallbone Claire Rossi Craig McIntosh David Scanlan Dino Todorov **Edward Fearis** Eugene Wong Gemma Couldwel Hayley McNamara Hayley Stannard Ian Whitelaw Jacqueline Brown Jason O'Meara John McKechnie Kellie Woods Luke de San Marc Saupin Menka Orellana Michael Garbellini Natalie Krsticevic Olivia Campana Patrick Mackenzie Rein Squires Ronan Devahasdin Sam Jones Simon Steenhof Tara Prentice Tina Forde Vishnu Parmar Warren Hennessy

UDGES

Alexander Gibson Angie Gimisis Anna Baker Aoning Li Ashley Roberts Ben Shaw Caris Tysoe Catinca Hozoc-Martin Chadd Graham Clancy Hindmarsh Clinton Ducas **Daniel Coster** Daphne Schilizzi David Mulligan Emma Luck **Gad Coffie** Gerald Hoe Grace Ritter Greg Mohen Heidi Watson James Clifford James Marzec Jay Tampi Jonathan Kirke Justine Ralph Kathryn Roach Lucas Roosendaal Michael Cornes Midaiah Harnett Naomi Schlaepfer Natalie Wigg Nicholas Fung Philip Hardless Rhianna Brims Rhys Mola Robert Lilley Sam Coten Sam Hemachandra Seamus Rafferty Shan Nanayakkara Shana Yeap Timothy Lethbridge

32 | BRIEF DECEMBER 2022