

The 2021 Mock Trial Competition featured the largest range of schools in its 35-year history, with 61 schools taking part. 1,093 students participated in the 2021 season, in 112 teams.

8 teams from schools with a lower-thanaverage socio-economic status were subsidised under the Student Access Programme, of which Francis Burt Chambers is the Programme Partner.

The Law Society of Western Australia thanks the Department of Justice for providing the use of the courts for the 175 mock trials.

The last trial of the season, the Grand Final, took place in October in Court 1 of the Supreme Court of Western Australia, with the Hon Chief Justice Peter Quinlan presiding. The school students were delighted and honoured to appear before the Chief Justice in the ceremonial courtroom

The winning team was from St Mary's Anglican Girls' School in Karrinyup. Their coach, Craig McIntosh, has supported St Mary's mock trial teams for many years, and was assisted by teacher Warren Hennessy, a lawyer also. The runnerup team, from Christ Church Grammar School, was ably coached by UWA law student Tom Robins.

President of the Law Society, Jocelyne Boujos, thanked them as well as the many members including associates, practitioners and law students who volunteered their time to coach a team or to judge one or more of the mock trials. This programme is treasured by many in our community and is made possible by the support of these volunteers.

The Law Society runs the competition as part of the Francis Burt Law Education Programme, which gives students an enjoyable and dynamic introduction to the law. The mock trials are fictional civil and criminal cases, with the rules of evidence and procedures modified and simplified. Each team prepares their own case and the students take on the roles of barristers, solicitors, court staff and witnesses. Students are judged on their opening addresses, witness examinations, objections based on responses, closing statements and other court activities. Teams of between eight and 12 compete in the Supreme Court and, if required, the Mandurah or Bunbury Courthouse.

Lawyers interested in volunteering as a coach or judge in 2022 are invited to contact the Mock Trial Coordinator at mocktrial@lawsocietywa.asn.au

The Law Society would especially like to thank Sam Hemachandra and Grace Ritter of FourLion Legal for devising and producing the case materials for the Grand Final trial. Their enthusiasm and support for the Mock Trial Competition is immensely appreciated.







Above: The two Grand Final teams with teachers, coaches, The Honourable Peter Quinlan Chief Justice of Western Australia and Jocelyne Boujos, President, The Law Society of WA.



Above: The winners are announced!



Above: St Mary's Grand Final team.

Premium Partners





Government of **Western Australia** Department of **Justice**

Student Access Partner



FRANCIS BURT CHAMBERS

WA Law School Partners





We extend our thanks to the following members of the profession who volunteered as coaches or judges in the 2021 Competition. The programme would not be possible without your support.

COACHES

Amy Bradley Anna Prentice Anthony Durand Belinda Hermawan Briannen Morrow Caitlyn West Claire Rossi Craig McIntosh Danika Adair-La David Scanlan Dino Todorov Eamonn Bochatt Emma Campanella **Eugene Wong** Gemma Cronin Hayley McNamara Helena Trang Jack Killoh Jacqueline Brown Jessica Tower Jo Feldm<u>an</u> Joel Grinceri John McKechnie Jonathan McCoy Kiri-Lee George Lillian Catovic Marc Saupin Matthew Glatzel Menka Orellana Michelle Harries Midaiah Harnett Natalie Mulvaney Nicholas Camer-Pesci Nicola Pike Paul Catalano Pippa Atthowe Rein Squires Sam Jones Sarah Harvey Stephanie Powell Tara Prentice Tawnee Dickinson Tom Robins Vishnu Parmar Zanthi Jordan

Greg Mohen Hannah Pike Heidi Watson James Bordi James Marzec Jane Vickery Jarrad Goold Jay Tampi Johanna More Jonathan Kirke Joseph Sabbagh Justine Ralph Keely Liddle Leishae Burke Leslie Gabriel Maddison Reid Marilyn Bromberg Marina Greenshields Michael Cornes Natalie Wigg Nicholas Mountain Patrick Mackenzie Philip Hardless Rachael King Rhianna Brims **Rob Coales** Robert Lilley Sam Coten Sam Hemachandra Seamus Rafferty Sean Stocks Shan Nanayakkara Shana Yeap Simon Quenby Stephen McGrath Tom Camp Tim O'Leary Tim Lethbridge Veenela Veerasamy Zoe Kalimeris

JUDGES

Adam Ebell Alex McVey Alexander Gibson Amy Bradley Andrew Giorgi Aoning Li Asanka Gunasekera Ashley Roberts Ashooja Chandra Bridget Rumball Caris Tysoe Chadd Graham Cheyne Beetham Clancy Hindmarsh Clinton Ducas **Daniel Coster** Daniel Harrop **Daniel Morey** Daphne Schilizzi David Mulligan Elisha Rayner Elmi Carlean Gad Coffie Georgina Due Gerald Hoe

Grace Ritter