

On Thursday, 11 October 2018, the season's top two teams, both hailing from Hale School, competed in the Grand Final of the Law Society's Mock Trial Competition in Court 1 of the Supreme Court in Stirling Gardens. The judge was the Chief Justice of Western Australia, the Honourable Peter Quinlan. The winning team was Hale Briefs, who achieved a narrow victory over their rivals and schoolmates, Hale Defenders, in a civil matter concerning the payment of wages to a young person working in a fast food restaurant.

We thank the members of the Grand Final Case Working Group, Kathryn Roach, Sam Hemachandra and Zoe Kalimeris, for devising and producing the new case material.

The Mock Trials are fictional civil and criminal cases, with the rules of evidence and procedures modified and simplified. Each team prepares their own case, and the students take on the roles of barristers, solicitors, court staff and witnesses. 1,175 students in Years 10, 11 and 12 participated in 196 trials this season. 124 teams from 53 schools were involved.

At the presentation following the Grand Final, Law Society President Hayley Cormann thanked the legal profession for their support: 83 volunteer lawyers acted as judges, while 52 legal practitioners and law students coached the students.

Ms Cormann also thanked the Chief Justice for judging the Grand Final and acknowledged the support of the Supreme Court of Western Australia, Department of Justice, Department of Education, Murdoch University and the Public Purposes Trust. She noted that the Mock Trial Competition is a fantastic, dynamic way to introduce the law and our legal system to young people, that there is strong evidence that too many Australians have an inadequate understanding of their rights and responsibilities before the law. and that community legal education has therefore never been more important.

Many people at the event embraced the #MockTrialsForever message. The State Government intends to cut more than \$110,000 in funding to the Law Society's **Education and Community Services** Programme from July 2019, and this will directly affect the Mock Trial Competition. The Competition helps young people engage with the legal system and build



valuable skills. The Law Society is asking the State Government to reverse its decision, and hopes people will share the message and the hashtag on social media. The Mock Trial Competition has been held every year since 1987, and we hope it will continue to go from strength to strength, with proper funding from the State Government.

You can register to volunteer as a judge or a coach for the 2019 Competition.

Previous participation is not required and registered practitioners can claim CPD points for their efforts. We will be running an information session in February 2019 to explain the Competition in detail.

Please contact us on mocktrial@ lawsocietywa.asn.au or on (08) 9324 8604 to register your interest, or register via the Volunteer Lawyer Registration form, found on the Law Society's website.



Plaintiff Team - 'Hale Briefs' - Winning Team

Murray Pratt Students: Calum Wong Nicholas Kane Charlie Hurst Nicholas Stone Dhanush Vijayaraghavan Nikkhil Mukundala Jamie Warnock Stephen Hanna

Jordan Pearce

Marcus Jorgensen Teacher - Ms Desiree Lange

Matthew Foster Coach - Dr Marc Saupin

Defendant Team - 'Hale Defenders' - Runner-up Team

Students: Henry Fowler Aaron Bloch Lachie Stafford

Byron Ellis

Teacher - Ms Susannah Watson Connor Price

Henry Chen Coach - Dr Marc Saupin







Department of Justice Department of Education We extend our thanks to the following members of the profession who volunteered as coaches and judges in the 2018 Mock Trial Competition. The Competition would not be possible without your support.

COACHES

Alex Manning Alex Mossop Amara Hughes Amelia Ikin Anna Baker Anne Durack Aoning Li Brenton Panzich **Briony Whyte** Carolyn Moss Catarina Cabrera Chelsea Balm Claire Rossi Clancy Hindmarsh Cory Fogliani Craig Hershowitz Craig McIntosh Danae Aldous Danika Adair-La Dino Todorov Elisha Rayner Erica Thuijs Eugene Wong Frank Main Grant Benskin Hugh O'Sullivan Ilya Isakov Jacqui Brown James Marzec Janine Villanueva Jessica Berry Jessica Henderson Jessica Tran Johanna Overmars John McKechnie John Park John Rando John Williams Khie Gregory Kiri-Lee George Marc Saupin Menka Orellana Michael Gething Miguel de Sousa Rein Squires Rhianna Brims Sam Coten Sarah Jones Sean Gomes Simon Steenhof Troy Sauzier Veenela Veerasamy

JUDGES

Adam Ebell Alex McVey Alexander Noonan Alexandria Bishop Amy Ryan Angie Gimisis Annabel Sweetnam-Groom Ashley Roberts Belinda Loftus **Braeden Watts** Brenda Powell **Briee Rogers** Caitlin Liddelow Caris Tysoe Carly Price Cathryn Palfrey Catinca Hozoc Cecilia Chipangura

Chad Silver Chelsea Fruhwirth Cheyne Beetham Chris Townsend **Daniel Coster** Daniel Harrop Daniel Jenkins Deon de Klerk Ebenezer Assibey-Bonsu Elmi Carlean Emma Luck Eric Chan Femke Elferink Frith Gibbons Gary Cheung **Gray Porter** Greg Mohen Hollie Johnston Ian MacFarlane Ian Sampson Ilana Hamilton Iva Brnadic Jarrad Goold Jasdev Singh Jay Tampi Jonathon Horne Joy Horwood Jun Khew Wona Kate Banasik Kate Wilson Kathryn Roach Katie Webster Keelv Liddle Ken Yin Kerstin Stringer Laura McNama Leslie Gabriel Lorraine Finlay Marshall McKenna Michael Cornes Michelle Linehan Miranda Robertson Natalie Wigg Natasha Stewart Nicola Thomas-Evans Oralee Logan Patrick Mackenzie Penelope Reid Philip Hardless Rachael King Rebecca Dennison Rhiarne Bruce Robert Lilley Sam Hemachandra Sam Pack Saoirle McCallion Sasha Dawson Seamus Rafferty Shana Yeap Stacey Watts Stephanie Smith Stephen McGrath

Thomas Camp

Zoe Kalimeris

Zoe Bush

Timothy Lethbridge